Haebaragi Releases New Album

Home > Culture > Features

print dictionary print

Haebaragi Releases New Album

Many people in their 30s and 40s may still remember the songs of famous folk-ballad duo Haebaragi. Haebaragi was considered an integral part of the lives of young people in the early 1980s. However, as Korean youth grew up, they became concerned with other issues and forgot Haebaragi. The duo's most famous songs include 'The person who brings happiness,' 'The jewel box in my heart,' and 'Everything is love.'
Haebaragi's last album (their sixth) was released eight years ago. However, they have just released a new album with a title song called 'Your scent.' Haebaragi will soon hold concerts to promote their seventh album.
Permanent Haebaragi member Lee Joo-ho said, "I decided to take a long rest because I was having real trouble writing poetry. Because of my writer's block, I didn't have the opportunity to meet with music fans for a long time." He added, "I'm quite nervous about meeting fans again now that we've put out a new album."
From the very beginning Lee Joo-ho composed all the songs for Haebaragi. Yoo Ik-jong joined Lee for the first and second albums, while Lee Kwang-joon performed on the third, fourth, and fifth albums. Lee made the sixth album with Sim Myung-gi. The new seventh album was made with the help of singer Kang Sung-won.
'Such a nice day' from the new album is quite different from the traditional Haebaragi style. However, songs such as 'Waiting for love' and 'Your scent' are in the familiar Haebaragi style. Haebaragi will hold concerts from April 29 to May 5 at the Moonhwa Ilbo Concert Hall. Both old hits and news songs will be performed at these special concerts.

by Lee Eun-ju

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)