Haydn, Handel and a snippet of Vivaldi this month

Home > Culture > Arts & Design

print dictionary print

Haydn, Handel and a snippet of Vivaldi this month


From left to right: Yang Go-un, Takeshi Kiriyama and Hidemi Suzuki.Provided by the organizer

In the world of classical music, 2009 is an important year.

April 14 is the 250th anniversary of the death of George Frideric Handel (1685-1759), a German-born Baroque composer, whose works influenced many other prominent composers like Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven.

And May 31 will mark the 200th anniversary of the death of Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), an Austrian composer often called the “Father of the Symphony.”

The Kumho Asiana Cultural Foundation has planned a series of concerts with music by Haydn, Handel and Vivaldi to be held this month, with the rationale that there’s no better time than now to bring their music back into the limelight.

Kicking off the series, fortepianist Park Su-hyeon, Korea’s first player of the early version of the piano, along with violinist Yang Go-un and cellist Lee Hyeon-jeong will play trios by Haydn this Thursday evening at Kumho Arts Hall in Jongno-gu, Seoul.

“It will be a rare chance to enjoy Haydn with the harmony of the early piano and the modern violin and cello,” Kim Soo-hyeon of Kumho said.

On March 12, however, the star of the night will be Vivaldi. Musica Glorifica, a Korean period music ensemble founded in 2002, will play Vivaldi’s concertos and sonatas under the baton of Baroque cellist Hidemi Suzuki. It will be an interesting variation to the series, which will be dominated by Haydn and Handel.

But the spotlight returns to Haydn on March 19, when Novus Quartet, a band of award-winning musicians from the Korea National University of Arts, perform Haydn’s String Quartet No.50 in B-flat Major, Op.64/3, among others.

Last May, Novus Quartet won third prize at the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition and Festa, becoming the first Korean group to win at the competition.

As the last in the series, musicians will pay tribute to Handel on March 26. Takeshi Kiriyama (Baroque violin), Shigeru Sakurai (Viola da gamba) and Oh Ju-hee (cembalo) will play Handel’s seven sonatas, offering a dream concert for fans of period music.

Tickets cost between 8,000 won and 30,000 won. For reservations, contact the Kumho Asiana Cultural Foundation at 6303-7700 or www.kumhoarthall.com, or Interpark at 1544-1555 or www.interpark.com.

By Kim Hyung-eun Staff Reporter [hkim@joongang.co.kr]

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now