‘Iris’ stars in the Assembly

Home > National >

print dictionary print

‘Iris’ stars in the Assembly

The sound of laughter and applause filled the Grand Meeting Hall in Yeouido, central Seoul, on Monday as the Mass Culture & Media Research Group
recognized the country’s biggest stars in show business. The 10th installment of the awards, held by the government-created research group, honored
performers in 10 different categories.

Winners included Girls’ Generation (Musician of the Year), the MBC documentary “North Pole’s Tears” (TV Program of the Year) and “Dae Jang Geum” (Musical of the Year).

A highlight of the ceremony was an appearance by actors Lee Byung-hun and Kim Tae-hee, who received the “Special Award” by Park Geun-hye, former chairwoman of the Grand National Party, for their roles in this year’s hit drama “Iris.” When asked whether she has watched Iris before, Park answered,

“I regularly follow the show.”

Other notable guests included the current Grand National Party Chairman Chung Mong-jun and Ryu In-chon, the minister of culture, sports and tourism.

Approximately 500 people, including A-list celebrities, renowned politicians and the general public, attended the two-hour event.

Caption: Park Geun-hye, former chairwoman of the Grand National Party, poses with “Iris” stars Kim Tae-hee and Lee Byung-hun at the Mass Culture & Media

Research Group awards ceremony.
Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)