American Farrar wins stage 3 of Tour de France

Home > Sports > Football

print dictionary print

American Farrar wins stage 3 of Tour de France

REDON, France - Tyler Farrar became the first American to win a Tour de France stage on July 4, dominating a sprint finish in the third leg Monday as teammate Thor Hushovd of Norway kept the yellow jersey.

It was the first Tour stage victory for Farrar, one of the world’s best sprinters, and showcased the dominance of the Garmin-Cervelo team over the past two days at cycling’s greatest race.

The 198-kilometer (123-mile) flat route from Olonne-sur-Mer to Redon in western Brittany favored sprinters like Farrar, Hushovd, Mark Cavendish of Britain, Italy’s Alessandro Petacchi and Tom Boonen of Belgium.

“I certainly would have taken it on any day,’’ Farrar said of the stage victory. “But as an American, winning on the Fourth of July, it’s the icing on the cake. Lucky me.’’

As he crossed the finish, Farrar held up his hands to make out a “W’’ with his fingers to honor Wouter Weylandt, the Belgian who died in a crash during the Giro d’Italia in May.

Cavendish’s HTC-Highroad team had lined up to escort the British speedster to the finish from near the four-kilometer (2.4 mile) mark, but by the last few hundred meters Hushovd and Farrar had zoomed ahead.

“To have the world champion and yellow jersey work for you to launch the sprint, it’s crazy,’’ Farrar said of Hushovd.

At the finish, the American nosed ahead of France’s Romain Feillu, who was second, and Jose Joaquin Rojas of Spain in third. Farrar and a pack of riders clocked the same time: 4 hours, 40 minutes, 21 seconds.

With his victory, Farrar became the first American to win a Tour stage since Levi Leipheimer placed first in the individual time trial in Angouleme in 2007.

The top standings didn’t change: Hushovd retains a split-second edge over Garmin-Cervelo teammate David Millar of Britain, while Cadel Evans of Australia of BMC is third, one second back. Defending champion Alberto Contador of Spain, who lost time on Saturday after getting entangled in a crash, is 69th overall.

Among other hopefuls for victory on the Champs-Elysees on July 24, 2010 runner-up Andy Schleck of Luxembourg, the leader of Leopard-Trek, is eighth overall, four seconds behind Hushovd.


한글 관련 기사 [연합]
美 타일러 패러 3구간 우승

타일러 패러(27·미국)가 프랑스 도로일주 사이클대회 투르드프랑스 3구간에서 우승을 차지했다.

패러는 4일(이하 현지시각) 프랑스 올론느 쉬르 메르에서 레돈까지 198㎞ 구간을 4시간40분21초에 주파해 1위로 결승선을 통과했다.

미국 선수가 투르드프랑스에서 구간 우승을 차지한 것은 2007년 이래로 처음이다.

지난 3일 팀 타임 트라이얼(단체기록경주)에서 우승한 미국팀 가민-세벨로는 팀원이 두 구간 연속으로 1위를 차지하는 영광을 누리게 됐다.

2구간에서 '옐로 저지'를 탈환한 토르 허쇼포드(33·노르웨이)는 총 주행시간 9시간46분46초를 기록해 선두 자리를 지켰다.

스타 선수인 앤디 슐렉(룩셈부르크)과 브래들리 위긴스(영국)는 각각 8위와 10위로 선전했지만 지난해 우승자인 알베르토 콘타도르(29·스페인)는 69위로 고전하고 있다.

1위와 기록이 같은 선수가 100명이 넘을 정도로 치열했던 이번 경기에서는 영국의 사이클 스타 마크 카벤디시(26)와 허쇼포드가 경쟁하다 중간 스프린트 포인트를 박탈당하는 불미스러운 사태도 일어났다.

카벤디시는 이 일로 최고의 스프린터에게 주어지는 '그린 저지'의 꿈에서 멀어졌다.

4구간 경기는 프랑스 로리앙에서 뮈르 드 브르타뉴까지 이어지는 172.5㎞에서 펼쳐진다.
Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)