Kimbrel, Hellickson win MLB honors

Home > Sports > Football

print dictionary print

Kimbrel, Hellickson win MLB honors

NEW YORK - Atlanta Braves closer Craig Kimbrel was the unanimous choice as the National League’s Rookie of the Year, while Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher Jeremy Hellickson claimed American League honors on Monday.

Kimbrel, 23, set a Major League Baseball record for saves by a first-year pitcher with 46 in tying the Milwaukee Brewers’ John Axford for the National League lead. He became the 10th unanimous NL winner of the award.

The right-hander, who was 4-3 with a 2.10 earned run average, received all 32 first-place votes cast by two Baseball Writers’ Association of America members in each league city to score a perfect 160 points.

Hellickson, 24, went undefeated against American League East opponents in September as the Rays earned the wild-card playoff berth by overtaking the Boston Red Sox. The Tampa Bay right-hander, who posted a 13-10 record with a 2.95 earned run average, was listed first on 17 of the 28 ballots submitted.

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)