Yoon Il-sang launches digital singles

Home > National >

print dictionary print

Yoon Il-sang launches digital singles

Composer Yoon Il-sang launched an album marking his 21st year in the music industry earlier this month. To celebrate the release he also released two tracks selected from some of his best known hits. “Sorrow” and “I’m Missing You,” sung by 10cm and Paul Potts, were released online first before being followed by “Reminiscence” and “Remember” on Jan. 18.

“Reminiscence” was a song that was first released in 1997 and sung by the idol group from the 1990s, Turbo. The song sold some 1,200,000 copies and the new version released by Yoon featured the artists Kyuhyun, Ryeowook and Yesung of the boy band Super Junior. The music video to the song was released on Yoon’s official YouTube channel on Jan. 13.
Meanwhile “Remember” was originally sung by another idol group DJ Doc and sold some 1,300,000 copies in 1996. The re-make version was sung by JK Kim Dong-wook. The new version also features Miryo from Brown Eyed Girls.

The first tracks were released on Jan. 5, with the remaining ones being made available for download at intervals throughout January. “The album is a major project and we have recruited the help of national and international singers to produce the best of album,” said a representative from Yoon’s agency.

Yoon rose to fame for composing some of the greatest K-pop hits of the 1990’s for artists such as Turbo, DJ Doc, Cool, Kim Bum-soo and Kim Gun-mo. Yoon is currently a mentor on MBC’s singing audition show “The Great Birth 2.”

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)