Saenuri appointments finalize leadership plan

Home > National > Politics

print dictionary print

Saenuri appointments finalize leadership plan

Lawmakers loyal to President Park Geun-hye were appointed yesterday to key posts of the Saenuri Party, completing the ruling party’s leadership formation in the sensitive months ahead of a major by-election.

Representative Hong Moon-jong, a three-term lawmaker, was yesterday named the new secretary general of the Saenuri Party.

The party said yesterday that its Supreme Council held a meeting and approved a leadership reshuffle plan, including Hong’s appointment.

Hong, who represents the Uijeongbu B District of Gyeonggi, is a well-known Park loyalist. A politician with veteran organizational skills, Hong has supported her since her first unsuccessful run in the ruling party’s primary in 2007 and assisted her throughout her presidential quest until December last year. Representative Yoo Il-ho, who assisted Park as her chief of staff during her transition period when she was president-elect, was named spokesman of the Saenuri Party.

The party decided to retain its spokeswoman, Representative Min Hyun-joo. Another Park loyalist, Representative Kim Jae-won, was named the head of the strategic planning headquarters of the party.

By Ser Myo-ja []
Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now