Capitals’ Ovechkin wins third Hart Trophy

Home > Sports > Football

print dictionary print

Capitals’ Ovechkin wins third Hart Trophy

Washington Capitals captain Alexander Ovechkin won the Hart Trophy as the National Hockey League’s most valuable player on Saturday, claiming the honor for the third time.

Ovechkin, who also claimed the MVP award in 2008 and 2009, edged Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby in the closest Hart race in a decade.

Ovechkin received 1,090 points to 1,058 for Crosby in voting conducted by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Crosby, however, did not go away empty-handed, capturing the Ted Lindsay award that goes to the most outstanding player as voted by his fellow players.

Ovechkin tallied 32 goals, including 23 in his final 23 contests, as he also became the first three-time winner of the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the season’s top goalscorer.

Because of the lockout-shortened season, the NHL decided to hand out individual honors during the Stanley Cup rather than the usual glitzy awards ceremony held at the end of the season in Las Vegas.

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)