Samsung Group honors its top employees

Home > Business > Industry

print dictionary print

Samsung Group honors its top employees


Samsung Group Chairman Lee Kun-hee arrives at his 72nd birthday celebration yesterday with his wife, Hong Ra-hee, left, and daughter Lee Boo-jin, president of Hotel Shilla. [NEWSIS]

Samsung Group honored its top employees at the annual Samsung Proud People Awards for 2013, yesterday at the Samsung Electronics building in Seocho-dong, southern Seoul.

The event was attended by about 300 executives, including Lee Soo-bin, president and CEO of Samsung Life Insurance; Choi Gee-sung, vice chairman and the head of Samsung Group’s corporate strategy office; and Samsung Electronics Vice Chairman Kwon Oh-hyun.

After the ceremony, Chairman Lee Kun-hee celebrated his 72nd birthday with group presidents and their wives at the Hotel Shilla. He did not attend the awards.

Samsung gave awards to 20 people, a record number. The award for 2013 marks the 20th anniversary of the annual Samsung Proud People Awards, which was launched a year after Lee announced the New Management initiative in Frankfurt.

The award recipients were given a special promotion by one notch and 100 million won ($94,000). In addition, anyone who receives the award twice becomes eligible for induction into Samsung’s Hall of Fame.

The group gives the award to those who have been “a role model to executives and employees,” for “superb achievement” and “exemplary behavior.”

Awards are given in four categories: contribution, technology, design and special.

The contribution award honors notable achievement by executives. A total of 11 executives were named as contribution award winners.

In particular, four foreign executives also were given the award, including Vice President James Elliott, who introduced Samsung as an environment-friendly brand in the United States through the Memory Green marketing campaign, and Vice President Celestino Garcia, who contributed to making Samsung No. 1 in terms of brand preference in Spain. Also honored were the country directors in Turkey and Thailand.

Elliot and Garcia were promoted as vice presidents in the 2014 regular executive reshuffle.

Three employees, including Park Hyun-ho, senior vice president, who largely contributed in developing Samsung’s Galaxy S4 received technology awards, which honor contributions to the advancement of future technology competitiveness.

The design award went to Choi Min-kyung, who designed the Q9000, an air-conditioner.

The special award for those who contributed to the management development and the honor of Samsung inside and outside the company was given to five people, including Kim Young-jae, head of Daedeok Electronics, Samsung’s partner company, and Shin chi-yong, manager of the Samsung Fire Marine Bluefangs, its professional volleyball team.

“The year 2013 was a meaningful year for Samsung as it marked the 20th anniversary of the award as well as the New Management initiative. The number of award recipients increased significantly, in line with the 20th anniversary,” said a spokesman for Samsung Group.

The 20 award recipients also were invited to the dinner held at Shilla Hotel in Jangchung-dong, central Seoul, at 6 p.m. yesterday.

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now