NEW ARRIVALS

Home > Culture > Books

print dictionary print

NEW ARRIVALS

테스트

Me Before You: A Novel (Movie Tie-In)

AUTHOR: Jojo Moyes

PUBLISHER: Penguin Books

PRICE($): 9.99

GENRE: Literature & Fiction

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose.

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life - steady boyfriend, close family - who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life - big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel - and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy - but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A love story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars,” “Me Before You” brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common - a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, “What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?”



테스트

Presence: Bringing Your Boldest Self to Your Biggest Challenges

AUTHOR: Amy Cuddy

PUBLISHER: Little, Brown

PRICE($): 15.99

GENRE: Self-Help

Have you ever left a nerve-racking challenge and immediately wished for a do over? Maybe after a job interview, a performance or a difficult conversation? The very moments that require us to be genuine and commanding can instead cause us to feel phony and powerless. Too often we approach our lives’ biggest hurdles with dread, execute them with anxiety and leave them with regret.

By accessing our personal power, we can achieve “presence,” the state in which we stop worrying about the impression we’re making on others and instead adjust the impression we’ve been making on ourselves. As Harvard professor Amy Cuddy’s revolutionary book reveals, we don’t need to embark on a grand spiritual quest or complete an inner transformation to harness the power of presence. Instead, we need to nudge ourselves, moment by moment, by tweaking our body language, behavior and mind-set in our day-to-day lives.

Amy Cuddy has galvanized tens of millions of viewers around the world with her TED talk about “power poses.” Now she presents the enthralling science underlying these and many other fascinating body-mind effects, and teaches us how to use simple techniques to liberate ourselves from fear in high-pressure moments, perform at our best, and connect with and empower others to do the same.

Brilliantly researched, impassioned and accessible, “Presence” is filled with stories of individuals who learned how to flourish during the stressful moments that once terrified them. Every reader will learn how to approach their biggest challenges with confidence instead of dread, and to leave them with satisfaction instead of regret.



테스트

Bold: How to Go Big, Create Wealth and Impact the World

AUTHOR: Peter H. Diamandis

PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster

PRICE($): 17

GENRE: Business & Money

A radical, how-to guide for using exponential technologies, moonshot thinking and crowd-powered tools, “Bold” unfolds in three parts. Part One focuses on the exponential technologies that are disrupting today’s Fortune 500 companies and enabling upstart entrepreneurs to go from “I’ve got an idea” to “I run a billion-dollar company” far faster than ever before. The authors provide exceptional insight into the power of 3-D printing, artificial intelligence, robotics, networks and sensors, and synthetic biology. Part Two draws on insights from billionaires such as Larry Page, Elon Musk, Richard Branson and Jeff Bezos and reveals their entrepreneurial secrets. Finally, “Bold” closes with a look at the best practices that allow anyone to leverage today’s hyper-connected crowd like never before. Here, the authors teach how to design and use incentive competitions, launch million-dollar crowdfunding campaigns to tap into tens of billions of dollars of capital, and finally how to build communities - armies of exponentially enabled individuals willing and able to help today’s entrepreneurs make their boldest dreams come true.



More in Books

Book about veteran actor Lee Byung-hun sells out, second printing begins

'Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982' makes Time's list of 100 must-read books

The works of Shakespeare are alive and well in Asia

Children's book author Baek Heena to speak at Singapore Writers Festival

2020 Seoul International Writers' Festival urges now is the time to read

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now