Voting opens for Korean football awards, with 4 players up for MVP

Home > Sports > Baseball

print dictionary print

Voting opens for Korean football awards, with 4 players up for MVP

Voting for this year’s Korean pro football awards began Thursday, with four players listed as MVP candidates.

Voting for the 2018 K League Awards will run until 8 p.m. Dec. 2. The winners will be announced at a ceremony scheduled for Dec. 3.

The K League, the operator of the pro football league, already announced MVP nominees for the 2018 season last week. After receiving recommendations from the 12 clubs, Gyeongnam FC forward Marcao, Gangwon FC striker Uros Djeric, Ulsan FC forward Junior Negrao and Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors defender Lee Yong have been nominated for the top individual honor in the K League 1.

Marcao, who swept the MVP and scoring title last year in the second division, is currently the top scorer in the first division with 26 goals. With two matches remaining until the season finale, Djeric is chasing Marcao with 24 goals, followed by Junior who has 21.

Lee Yong is currently third in assists with nine helpers in 30 matches. But he has the winners’ advantage as his club Jeonbuk had already secured the K League 1 title.

For the Young Player award, which is presented to the top Korean-born player aged 23 or younger with under three years of professional experience, Jeonbuk goalkeeper Song Bum-keun, Ulsan midfielder Han Seung-gyu, Daegu FC forward Jeong Seung-won and Pohang Steelers goalkeeper Kang Hyeon-mu were the nominees.

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)