Winners announced in ESU competition

Home > National > Social Affairs

print dictionary print

Winners announced in ESU competition


Winners of the 17th ESU Korea Public Speaking Competition gather on stage after the awards ceremony, held Saturday at Incheon National University. Prizes were awarded by Ryu Kwon-ha, CEO of the Korea JoongAng Daily, far left; Kim Dong-won, dean of external strategy at Incheon National University, fourth from left; and Jung Eun-young, CEO and president of HSBC Korea, fifth from left in back row. [PARK SANG-MOON]

Some 120 students participated in the final round of the 17th English-Speaking Union (ESU) Korea Public Speaking Competition on Saturday at Incheon National University, west of Seoul.

The 120 finalists were chosen from some 800 students from across the country who had submitted written speeches for the competition.

The Grand Prize was given to four contestants, one from each age group: Jo Sung-soo from Korean Minjok Leadership Academy, Jung Yoon-seo from Yongma Middle School, Kim Kwak Euro from Seoul Apgujeong Elementary School and Joo Soo-hyun from Mogun Elementary School.

The competition, held twice a year, was hosted by the Korea JoongAng Daily and the British Embassy in Seoul. The official sponsors of the first ESU contest of 2019 were HSBC Korea and Incheon National University.

Awards were presented by Jung Eun-young, CEO and president of HSBC Korea; Kim Dong-won, dean of external strategy at Incheon National University and professor of public administration at the College of Law, Commerce and Public Affairs; and Ryu Kwon-ha, CEO of the Korea JoongAng Daily.

Each participant gave five-minute speeches in English and answered questions from a panel of judges. Contestants were divided into four groups: elementary lower-level, elementary upper-level, middle and high school.

The Gold Prize, the second-highest honor after the Grand Prize, went to Lee Young-hyun from Seoul Global High School, Lim Su-wan from Daewon International Middle School, Kim Jung-yoon from Lila Elementary School and Kim Dong-gun from Simseok Elementary School.

The Silver Prize went to Kang Ye-eun of Hankuk Academy of Foreign Studies, You Han-na of Guam Middle School, Kim Soo-hyeon of Seoul Sindong Elementary School and Dong Ji-won of Pangyo Elementary School.

The Bronze Prize was awarded to Lee Jeong-won from Jamsil Girls’ High School, Kim Seo-young of Jinseon Girls’ Middle School, Chloe Juha Lee from Tunjon Elementary School and Yoo Jee-min of Seoul Apgujeong Elementary School.

The winners of the Participation Prize were Park Jong-eun from Ewha Girls’ Foreign Language High School, Kim Yoon-sung from Korea International School Pangyo Campus, Sim Ho-ji from Cheongshim International Academy, Jeon Mi-jin from Yaeum Middle School, Lee Seung-hyeok from Seocho Middle School, Kim Ha-eun from Unam Middle School, Seo So-young of Soongeui Elementary School, Kim Kyu-been of Simseok Elementary School, Kim Ji-heon of Seoul Jamwon Elementary School, Seo Ji-hoo of Soongeui Elementary School, Chin Eun-ji from the Elementary School Affiliated with Seoul National University of Education, Lee Si-jin of Seoul Kongjin Elementary School.

The Creative Prize was bestowed on Yoon Soo-min from Jukjeon High School, You Ji-min from Chadwick International Upper School, Louis Jittae Kim of Seoul International School, Lee Ji-won of Shanghai High School International Division Middle School; Cha Hyeon-su from Seoul Wonhyo Elementary School, Chun Seung-yu of Sunae Elementary School, Yeo Eun-seo from Pyeongchon Elementary School and Baek Seung-joo of Simseok Elementary School.

Jo Sung-soo from Korean Minjok Leadership Academy, Grand Prize winner in the high school division, will face off against the winner of the same division in the next competition to determine who will go on to compete in the international ESU contest, held annually in London.

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)