4 of Moon’s ministers say they’ll sit out elections

Home > National > Politics

print dictionary print

4 of Moon’s ministers say they’ll sit out elections

Four lawmakers from the ruling Democratic Party (DP) serving as ministers in President Moon Jae-in’s cabinet said Friday they won’t run for reelection in April’s general election, vowing to devote themselves to the success of Moon’s government.

Minister of SMEs and Startups Park Young-sun, Land, Infrastructure and Transport Minister Kim Hyun-mi and Education Minister Yoo Eun-hae held a joint news conference at the National Assembly to announce their decisions not to run in the parliamentary general election slated for April 15.

Minister of Interior and Safety Chin Young didn’t attend the news conference but delivered his intention to give up his candidacy for the April election to DP Chairman Lee Hae-chan.

The four lawmakers-turned-ministers all joined Moon’s cabinet while serving as a DP lawmaker.

Park, a four-term lawmaker, said at the conference that she, as an SME minister, will concentrate on transforming her constituency in Guro District in western Seoul into a hub of the fourth industrial revolution instead of seeking another term in the assembly.

Kim, a three-term lawmaker, said giving up her electoral constituency in Ilsan, Gyeonggi, was a very difficult decision.

Yoo, a two-term lawmaker, said she, as the first female deputy prime minister for social affairs in the Moon government, will do her best to fulfill her task as education minister.

DP Chairman Lee said Chin was not at the news conference because he is the minister in charge of overseeing the general election.

“The upcoming general election is very important and has significance in our history,” Lee said. “The election results may determine the fate of our country.”

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)