DPP Announce Proportional Representation Candidates

Home > National > Politics

print dictionary print

DPP Announce Proportional Representation Candidates

The Democratic People's Party (DPP) March 27 publicly recommended Kang Sook-ja, chairwoman of the Pusan city education committee as its No.1 candidate for proportional representation seats in the 16th general parliamentary election. Korean election seats are allocated through both constituency votes and a proportional analysis of votes. Kim Sang-hyun, chief commissioner, was nominated as its No.2 candidate, Chang Ki-pyo, also chief commissioner, as No.3, Yoon Won-jung, acting secratary-general, as No.4, and Kim Chul, deputy, as No.5.

Earlier, DPP representative Cho Soon, at a press conference at the party headquarters, stressed that he would not run as proportion representation candidate but for a local constituency.

Other DPP recommended proportional representation candidates include acting central committee chairman Cho Ik-hwan (No.6), ex-assemblyman Cho Ik-hwan (No.7), ex-assemblyman Lee Jang-hui (No.8), ex-assemblyman Bae Kil-rang (No.9), deputy Jung Hae-un (No.10), committee chairwoman Kim Mi-ja (No.11), Taegu election vice-chairman Shin Kwang-du (No.12), planning department chief Cho Jin-hyun (No.13), National Assembly vice-chairman secretary Shin Dong-chul (No.14), and deputy Kang Chul (No.15).

by Pak Seung-hui

More in Politics

Moon orders review of National Institute of Health plan

National Assembly elects speaker despite UFP's boycott

Japanese company formally warned about assets

Envoy to U.S. says Korea gains clout with superpowers

Pentagon agrees to end furloughs of Korean workers

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now