Woods avoids DQ, gets 2-stroke penalty

Home > Sports > Football

print dictionary print

Woods avoids DQ, gets 2-stroke penalty



AUGUSTA, Georgia - Tiger Woods controversially avoided disqualification from the Masters on Saturday when officials used discretionary powers to hand him a two-stroke penalty for taking an illegal drop during Friday’s second round.

The world No. 1, a hot favorite at Augusta National, where he is a four-time champion, earned his reprieve following a lengthy review by Masters officials of a penalty drop he took at the par-5 15th.

Aided by a recently amended rule announced at the 2011 Masters, Woods was not disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard because his infringement was based on television evidence.

“I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules. I didn’t know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard,” Woods said in a statement posted on his Twitter account.

Reuters
Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
s
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now