2 named to Constitutional Court

Home > National > Politics

print dictionary print

2 named to Constitutional Court


From left: Moon Hyung-bae, Lee Mi-sun

President Moon Jae-in nominated two new justices to the Constitutional Court on Wednesday.

The president tapped Moon Hyung-bae and Lee Mi-sun, both district court judges, to become the newest members of the Constitutional Court’s nine-member panel, the Blue House said.

Moon, 54, is currently serving as a senior judge at Busan High Court, while Lee, 49, sits as a senior judge at the Seoul Central District Court. The two will replace outgoing justices Cho Yong-ho and Suh Ki-suk, both of whom are set to step down April 19.

The justice-nominees must undergo parliamentary confirmation hearings before they can be appointed.

Constitutional Court justices serve single six-year terms.


More in Politics

Tensions rise between prosecution, Ministry of Justice ahead of court review

Opposition jumps on idea of Assembly probe of Choo

Blue House names new foreign policy secretary

Prosecutors protest suspension of Yoon by justice minister

DP wants parliamentary probe of prosecutor general

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)

What’s Popular Now