Korea Women's Association United Awards its Annual Prizes

Home > Culture > Features

print dictionary print

Korea Women's Association United Awards its Annual Prizes

Korea Women's Association United (KWAU) awarded its annual Woman of the Year Prize to Kim Kang-ja, chief of Seoul's Jongam police station, for her work to prevent the sexual abuse of young women.

KWAU also praised Kim for her decisive actions against what the association termed various irregularities and corruption prevalent in the country this year.

KWAU also gave the KIm Hwal-ran Leaderhip Award to Park Yong-sook, president of the Friends of Love Corporation for her dedication to the improvement of women's social status in government organizations and institutions.

Bertha Marian Holt, honorary president of Holt International Children's Services, who died on July 31, received posthumously the 36th Yongshin Service Award. The award honors Choe Yong-shin, a heroine of the novel "Evergreen," written by Korean novelist Shim Hoon (1901-36). Mrs. Holt was honored for her contributions to international adoption and child care, KWAU said.

by Park Hye-min

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)