Home > National >

print dictionary print


“Walk 2015”

Label: Mystic 89

Genre: Various genres

Yoon Jong-shin’s new album contains two CDs: one that comprises 13 songs from his well-known “Monthly Yoon Jong-shin” project and the other which contains 13 songs from his 2015 concert “Lyricist Yoon Jong-Shin Concert.”

Yoon collaborated with various artists including Skull & Haha, Beenzino, Jane Jang, Lucite Tokki and Eddie Kim. In addition, Yoon showed off his vocal skills - most notably in the songs “BIRD” and “Monster.”

According to Yoon’s agency, the singer took inspiration from various movies. For example, “Beauty Inside” (2015) was the basis for the song of the same title and actually used voices of the actors.

Tracks on the second CD are live versions of his songs. Since he wrote the lyrics himself, the songs mean a lot to him as well as his fans. On “First Farewell, That Night” Yoon, a middle-aged man, delicately depicts a girl’s sadness after experiencing her first heartbreak.

While Yoon has become recognized as a comedian in recent years, this album seems to consolidate his identity as a musician.

By Kim Hye-jun

Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)