‘The Fortress’ wins big at Film Critics Awards

Home > National >

print dictionary print

‘The Fortress’ wins big at Film Critics Awards


Filmmaker Hwang Dong-hyuk’s period epic “The Fortress” took home four awards, including Best Picture and Best Director, at the Korean Association of Film Critics Awards held on Thursday evening.

Hosted by actor Seo Kang-jun and actress Lee Sun-bin, the 37th edition of the film awards took place at the Press Center in downtown Seoul at 6:30 p.m.

“The Fortress,” set in 1636, when China’s Qing Dynasty invaded Korea, also took home the Best Cinematography and Best Score awards.

Other winners at the event included Na Muni, pictured left, who won the Best Actress award for her role in heartwarming drama “I Can Speak” and Seol Kyung-gu, pictured right, who nabbed the Best Actor award for his role in crime action movie “The Merciless,” which headed to the prestigious Cannes Film Festival in May to be screened under Midnight Screening section. Actress Jeon Hye-jin was honored with the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in the same movie while Yoo Hai-jin received the Best Supporting Actor award for his character in the period epic “A Taxi Driver,” which has sold more than ten million tickets.

The Best Rookie Director award was handed to Kang Yun-seong, the director of action flick “The Outlaws,” which has become the third best-selling R-rated film in Korean history and is on its way to surpass 2015’s “Inside Men.”

By Jin Min-ji
Log in to Twitter or Facebook account to connect
with the Korea JoongAng Daily
help-image Social comment?
lock icon

To write comments, please log in to one of the accounts.

Standards Board Policy (0/250자)